My Cain

“Be such a man, my son, and live such a life, that if every man were such as you, and every life such as yours, this earth would be God’s paradise.”

Happy 20th Birthday to my Cain. :)

Your Daddy drove me to the hospital in Jackson, Mississippi early in the morning on this day 20 years ago. Then I was in horrible, rotten, awful pain ALLLLLL day until you finally decided to grace us with your presence. You were sitting on my stomach when you breathed your first breath. I remember it like it was yesterday…mainly because of the pain. ;)

When I was pregnant with you (at the age you were yesterday) I went ’round and ’round thinking of names that I’d like to name you. Some of my choices were Julian (loved it, but your Dad? Not so much…), Zack (thank gosh I didn’t do that!), Dakota (Uncle Tony beat me to it), and so on and so on.  One night I was reading my Bible and I read about Cain and Abel. Now this may sound silly, but during the time I was reading their story, I was thinking to myself, “I need to give God a GOOD Cain because the first one…well, you know, he didn’t end up so well. It was decided that second: you were Cain. I wanted to give God a good Cain. :)

I love you so much, Toukie. Your Dad and I couldn’t be more proud of you (well, unless you bring that Biology grade up). ;)  Seriously, you’ve turned into one fine young man and I just love every thing about you.

I think I accomplished what I set out to do when I named you Cain. :) Happy Birthday, son.  I miss you and can’t wait to see you next week.

Posted in Me

One thought on “My Cain

Leave a Reply

