Easter With Family

img_7938
I got up at 7 this morning and got my shower, got ready, and headed straight to the kitchen to get things going for Easter dinner. The ham that I put on last night smelled wonderful, as did the pineapple upside down cake that I made last night, too. :)  I started my green beans (with salt pork, of course) so they could slow cook, then washed dishes.  When the kids and hubby got up, they helped me straighten the house and then I started working on the rest of the food I was cooking for dinner.

My MIL, FIL, SIL, BIL, and my two nieces all came down for dinner. Besides the ham and the green beans, I made a turkey breast, corn, mashed potatoes, potato salad, macaroni, sweet potato casserole, and yeast rolls. My MIL brought down deviled eggs, and my SIL brought strawberry shortcake. We had PLENTY of food and everything turned out really well. I tell you, I don’t think you can go wrong with a Smithfield smoked ham. Yummy!

We enjoyed our visit with the family. I really, really love having everyone down for cookouts and whatnot, especially when we can sit out on the back porch. The pollen, however, was horrible. We literally watched a huge cloud of pollen being blown right towards us. I’ve never seen such! I’m so thankful that I don’t have allergies, but I know I’ll have to take a Zyrtec tomorrow from sweeping all that pollen off the back porch. My head is already starting to hurt a little.

We drove up to my Mom’s house and took her some of the food that I cooked. We visited with her for about an hour and a half (a nice visit, even!) and then headed home. Tomorrow we are heading back to Virginia. I’m not looking forward to the drive at all. :( Since March 29th, we have only been home for three days. I have so much to take care of that I’m feeling a little stressed. Things will be just fine though.

I hope that you had a Happy Easter. I know that I did. :)

Posted in Me

One thought on “Easter With Family

Leave a Reply

