Perfect, Perfect Day!

(I was so tired last night that I didn’t get this finished–sorry, I’m sure y’all were dying to hear from me.)

I got up early this morning and met my Daddy and stepmother at their house. We left and headed to South Pittsburg, Tenn.

We went to a creek that Marshall and I found last August that had several butterflies. There weren’t too many there, but we then traveled on to a cemetery just down the road that is cut into a pasture. Along the rock wall of the cemetery is a bunch of thistle. There were various butterflies all over it and I got a lot of a good shots there.

We left the cemetery and had a picnic at a little roadside area that these folks had put on their property. There was a little stream and they had made a picnic table out of an old mill stone. Actually, I took a pic of Daddy beside it. The photo is a little bright, but this is the table:

We had a great lunch and then headed on down the road.

We went to Sherwood, Tennessee, and ended up in Stevenson, Alabama.  We found a pasture that was FULL (and I DO mean full!) of thistle.  We talked to one of the owners, a kindly elderly lady, who said that we could go in there. She was 88, I believe, and we could tell she was lonely. She asked us to please stay and talk to her and we did for a while. She and I exchanged addresses because I told her that I would send her some of the butterfly shots. She was so excited. She said, “Oh, I’d LOVE to have a pen pal!” :D  I thought it was precious and I can’t wait to get letters from her.  She’s sharp as a tack–and a little doll.  Why didn’t I get a photo of her? Because I’m an idiot.

We took pictures for hours. I’m so sore that I can hardly walk. :) We had a wonderful, fantastic, super time. I really enjoyed spending time with Daddy and Becky. I realize how very lucky I am that my Dad calls me and asks me to go on travels with him. I know how much this day will mean to me. Dad is getting on up there and I know how blessed I am that we get to do things like this together. That picture that I took of him getting the shot of the butterfly quickly became one of my favorite photos. I love it. I can’t wait to send him a copy.

Well, it’s almost midnight and I’m just getting home. I’m exhausted and I’m hitting the hay.  G’night.

Posted in Me

One thought on “Perfect, Perfect Day!

  1. This post and that picture touched me so much.

    I want two things from you. I want many actually, but these are special request.

    When coconut arrives… I want you to get some good pics of it with my daddy. I’ll be lucky if he sees coconut start kindergarten, let along reach puberty.

    The other… I want to go with you to see that old lady. Be her pen pal, get an invite. Ask to bring your prego pal along. I want to meet her. I need someone like her in my life in a bad way. I need someone to help me put years and time into perspective. I need someone that to them, 7 or 14 years is like a blink. I need someone to tell me stories. I want to know her with you.

    Is it Thursday yet? I want you too.

Leave a Reply

