Fantastic, Beautiful Day!

Honey, Cain, & Jake worked in LaGrange, Ga. today so Brooke and I went exploring. We ended up at the cemetery in Rising Fawn that Kandi and I always go to. The photo above is one reason we LOVE going to the cemetery.  I mean, LOOK at that view!

Before we went to Rising Fawn, we drove on a few old roads in Kensington, and High Point, and then headed over the mountain. We took our time and had a great day.  Marshall called me much earlier than I expected him to, so instead of doing the few other things we were going to do, we headed back home.

We ran to the store and got our supper, and Marshall and the boys got home shortly after we got back. We cooked out chicken, pork chops, and burgers on the grill.  After we ate, everyone but me fell asleep.  The guys got up at 4:30 this a.m. and I think Brooke was just tired from the heat today. ;)

We got quite a wonderful storm this evening around 8 p.m. There was a double-rainbow, AND it was the third time in a week that I’ve got to see rainbows. :)  The sky was the prettiest yellow…just an odd kind of yellow and it was just unbelievable.Here’s the one from today:

The sky was just such an odd color, it was beautiful. There are double rainbows there, but the one on top was very light. Can you see it?

Lately I’ve been wanting to grow my own vegetables and stuff.  I’m inspired by several people on the photo list that I’m on, and by my friend, Chas, (who I love more than Diet Coke). My stepmother also always has huge pots on the deck and she grows tomatoes and cucumbers in those pots. That’s how I want to do it.  I wonder if it’s too late?  My MIL, FIL, and SIL always have a fabulous garden, too. I’d like to start out small and then maybe next spring plant a small “real” garden. It’s something I’ve really never cared much about, but I REALLY want to do it.

I also want more flowers in the yard.  My stepmother and SIL always give me cool things to grow in the yard. Right now I have irises, dwarf irises, daylilies, mums, hollyhocks (that didn’t produce flowers this year, but maybe next year they will), and spider lilies. And I’m not talking about my flowering bushes. I want flowers. I want to attract more butterflies and hummingbirds. Maybe I can accomplish this by next spring. :)

Please excuse our stupid baby talk, but here’s a little video of how Lucy acts when she sees cows. This is a minor reaction, trust me.  She was exhausted, and hot, and didn’t get nearly as excited as she usually does. I have mentioned it before, but we just don’t know why she reacts this way–and to cows only.  :)

Did you hear about the teenager who was decapitated by the Batman roller coaster at Six Flags in Atlanta? His parents were there with him. :( He lost his hat when he rode the coaster, then jumped two fences to get the hat.  Poor kid, what did he think those fences were there for? That’s just so sad!

Speaking of sad, my stepmother had to put their dog down yesterday. She had him for 11 years and he had all sorts of things wrong with him. She is heartbroken and I feel so awful for her.  I wish there was something I could do to make her feel better, but sadly, only time will heal that wound. :(

Well, I’m off to work on pics.  Have a good night. :)

Posted in Me

2 thoughts on “Fantastic, Beautiful Day!

  1. Hey Sweetie…
    I suggest you GO for it, even if it is just a few little things like tomatoes in a big pot or herbs on your deck… but I warn you it is SOOOOOO enjoyable you will be a full blown veggie gardener before long! :)
    Ah, what a WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL feeling to see how God has put all that info into a teeny seed and then you see it grow into a magnificent plant that bears fruit or veggies and they include seeds, it really is amazing. And then nothing in the world tastes like something you have grown in your own garden. WOW!
    I root you on, you can do it! :)
    Well, if you love me more than Diet Coke, I guess it is right back at you, except, I love Mtn. Dew! :o haha!
    Love you,
    Chas

  2. Gal, that is a beautiful shot. Yes I read about the incident at Six Flags…the kid was at fault but still how awful.
    Regarding gardens…LOL.
    I had to work in veggie gardens as a kid from sun up…well you get the idea. I can do a flower garden..but this yr finally started a veggie garden.
    Yesterday it hailed 3 times on it.
    Sigh. It may pull through and yum yum!

Leave a Reply

