180,000 Miles

My husband and I were getting back on the interstate at Fort Payne, Alabama, today, headed towards the Collinsville exit (destination was Guntersville). My 2000 Ford Explorer hit the 180,000-mile mark. I pulled over on the side of the interstate to capture the moment. :)

I sure do love my truck. Well, it’s an SUV, of course, but I’ve always called her my truck, I don’t know why. She actually gets pretty good gas mileage and has never given us any problems. She’s paid for (finally!) and I have no desire to trade her in. I know the time will come, but I don’t want to think about that.

Marshall looked at a job near Guntersville, Ala. today and when we got home we cooked out steaks on the grill. It wasn’t as hot out there as it has been, and there was less humidity. There’s no rain in the forecast, sans your typical, heat-of-the-day, 30-percent chance of scattered thunderstorms every now and then. I REALLY hope we get more rain than we did last year. We need it so much.

Kandi and I are going to go “fun shooting” some time this week, or possibly the first of next week. I am REALLY looking forward to that. I’m finally getting excited about photography again. It’s true that I’m obsessed with it, but there for a month or two it just seemed like nothing interested me. I’ve shot birds and butterflies, flowers and sunsets, and I started feeling like “once you’ve seen one, you’ve seen ’em all.” That’s not the least bit true though, so I don’t know why I was feeling that way. Anyway, can’t wait to go fun shooting. Yee haa!

I put some more of my red-headed woodpecker shots on my pbase page. Wanna have a look? Go HERE and then click on the “next” button near the top right-hand side of the page. They aren’t perfect photos, but boy what a pretty bird!

That’s all, folks…

Posted in Me

3 thoughts on “180,000 Miles

  1. We hope that you are still planning to come to dinner Saturday night.. my guy sure is looking forward to it!! We don’t take enough time to just sit and talk..just be together as friends!! Let us know!!

  2. Just dropping in to say “hi” and that I finally have my computer back in my hands. Will write more, hopefully this weekend.

Leave a Reply

