Childless Couple


This is Cain going down the Nantahala River on our vacation last week. This was the last Class Three rapid and you can probably see that he’s breathing a sigh of relief that he made it through. :)
Here’s a little tip from me to you: don’t EVER, EVER use priceline.com to book a room. Marshall booked a two hotel rooms for his business for seven nights for a job they were doing in South Carolina. Because some parts didn’t come in, we weren’t able to finish the job and only stayed at the hotel for three nights. I called Priceline (and was warned by the hotel clerk that we’d have a time getting our money back) the night before Marshall checked out. They assured me that everything would be ok, gave me a confirmation number, and that was that.
Marshall was looking over his bank statement tonight and noticed that we had not received a refund for those unused nights. I called Priceline again and the customer service rep listened to my story and then informed me that it is their “policy” to not refund money on unused nights, which meant we paid for four nights that we could not use. I raised a stink and asked him why they would do that, and he had no other answer besides “that’s our policy.” I asked him who I could speak with about their polices so he transfered me to another CSR.
The CSR was super-friendly and put me on hold a couple of times and then he informed me that we would be getting a refund of almost $400. He said we can expect it within 10-15 days. I hope he wasn’t yanking my chain. I’ll let you know how it turns out.
We met with Tim, Jen, and Max for supper tonight. We ate at Logan’s simply because we were in Cain’s big ol’ honkin’ Bronco with the top off and a) it burns gas like crazy, and b) it’s insanely HOT. Anyway, we had the worst service we’ve ever had. It was quite a disappoinment. AND it’s so loud there that we have to yell to talk to one another. I like their food though. :)
Brooke left this afternoon to go stay with Chad and his family for the weekend and Cain is at Riverbend tonight enjoying the Black Crowes. Honey and I are enjoying a nice, quiet evening at home. Just us and Rambo on the tv. *sigh* There’s nothing more romantic than watching Rambo blow people to smithereens, is there?
I’m feeling MUCH better today than I have felt in a while. I’m getting hormones back into my system so I think that’s the deal. :) Yay for hormones!
Not only did I forget my friend Val’s birthday, I also forgot Jen’s birthday. I didn’t so much forget hers as I thought it was on June 24th. Soooo, Happy Birthday, Jen. I love you more than Cheerios! :)
~~Friday’s Feast~~

Appetizer
When you drink soda/pop/coke, do you prefer to drink it from the bottle, a can, or after pouring it into a cup? I drink Diet Coke, but only in a can. If I have to get a drink from the fountain or in a bottle, I choose regular Coke. (I don’t drink Pepsi unless I absolutely HAVE to–it tastes like flat Coke to me)

Soup
What television show are you willing to stay up late to watch? None of them. I really don’t watch tv. The only two shows I really watch anymore are Man vs. Wild and Deadliest Catch, both of which I love (especially Bear Grylls), and both are on Discovery Channel.

Salad
Name one person, place, or thing you think of as brilliant. Person: My 12-year old cousin Macy is the smartest person I know. I don’t know HOW some people are just crazy-smart like she is. Place: The Great Smoky Mtn. National Park. I haven’t been to too many places so I’m using a place I’m familiar with, and that place would be the Smokeys. Amazing, amazing. Thing: the computer and internet. What great inventions. Thank you, Al Gore, for the latter. ;) Hee hee!

Main Course
Would you be willing to work 4 10-hour days instead of 5 8-hour days in order to save gas? If I had a real job, yes, I would be. I’d be willing to do it just to get three days off. :)

Dessert
If you were a superhero, what would you call yourself? Amazing MOM!

Posted in Me

One thought on “Childless Couple

  1. When is her birthday! Damn damn damn… I’m a horrible friend! I never remember birthdays. Kevin has been my best friend for 14 years and I just found out his is October a few weeks ago. I remember yours because of the Tybee trip, but I had no ideas about Jens. Crap crap crap.

    I get to see you tomorrow! I get to see Tams tomorrow! I get to see Mtn Donna tomorrow! I get to junk! I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

