Like Yesterday

Like yesterday. That’s how I remember this day. You were so excited. You were graduating pre-k and blowing out that candle signified the end of your first official year of school. I got huge hugs after I took this photo of you. Huge hugs and an even bigger kiss on the cheek. “Let’s go!” you said.

And off we went…and what a ride it has been. Today your high school days are over and you begin your life as a young man. I could not be more proud of you. I could not possibly love you more. Your father and I have cherished every single second of being your parents; guiding you, and letting you guide yourself. We are so proud of the person that you are.

My job is finished. No more “Cain, please get up or you’ll be late!” No more, “Don’t forget your money!” No more kisses from you before you walk out the door to head off to school. No more “Bye Mom, I love you,” as you head to school. No more rolling your eyes as I yell “Buckle up!” from the door (surely you can remember this on your own now!). You’re beginning your college career and I couldn’t be more happy for you. :)

I love you, son. Congratulations!

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.
~Marianne Williamson, A Return to Love: Reflections on the Principles of “A Course in Miracles,” 1992

We love you, baby! :D

Posted in Me

7 thoughts on “Like Yesterday

  1. Ok, your blog made me cry… the video made me cry more….I am never going to get through the kids graduations (I know, I know… in 5 years)!! Eric is already laughing at me because I got all teary at Zack’s graduation last night… the speeches got to me! I am too big of a softy!!

  2. Rachel, I’m with you on the “never agains.” The last day I drove Z to school, the day before his birthday, I knew it was the last time.

    And I started typing out a really long reply, but then decided to post it on my blog instead so ….

  3. Ok you knew I would cry. I know that will be me in just 2 years. It will go by so fast. I hope our sons realize just how much this tears Mama’s hearts out. Love your hair.

  4. Heck, it’s 17 years away for me and I was still welling up (just a little bit, though). You and Marshall are an inspiration, and believe me when I say we will be consistently picking your brain for the ingredients of your Cain recipe.

Leave a Reply

