Happy Mother’s Day!

I am sick. I can’t speak at all. What a great Mother’s Day gift for me to give my family. :)

Last night Cain was on his way home from his girlfriend’s house. He called me, his voice all shaky, and he said that he was driving back towards Summerville on 100 (for those of you familiar w/where we live). He came around a curve and his headlights hit on a man walking down the street, headed to Cain’s lane. This was almost 11 at night, practically in the middle of nowhere.

There was a truck following the man and Cain had to slam on his brakes so he wouldn’t hit the guy walking. He said that the man’s arms were outstretched as if to say, “What are you doing?” The whole time the truck behind the guy was creeping closer and closer towards our truck. The man walked in front of our truck and started walking to the door. Cain floored the gas and got out of there and called 911 as soon as he got phone service.

Can you EVEN imagine that? Who knows what in the world could’ve happened. He was scared to death when he call me and I was ready to fly out the door. I called the sheriff’s department also and they assured me that they were sending someone there right away. Cain gave a good description of the truck that was following the guy. He said he knew the guy was white, but he said he was so nervous that he was watching the guy’s hands to see if he was going to pull out a gun or something, and didn’t really pay attention to the guy’s face.

What if Cain would’ve stopped to see if this man needed help? What if it had not been Cain but some little old man or woman, or even Cain’s girlfriend? That just scares me to death. Thank you, God, for giving Cain the sense of mind to get out of there when he was so scared.

People are absolutely insane these days. I just don’t get it. I don’t know what on earth that guy had planned to do with Cain, I mean WHAT could he have wanted? The man couldn’t have known who would be coming around that curve. What was he doing? Terrifying… Sounds like one of those crazy “Fwd:” emails you get warning you to be careful, doesn’t it?  Scary to think things like this really happen.

Pretty powerful thunderstorms roared through here last night and it rained all night. The lightning was amazing. That was the best storm we’ve had in a really long time.

Kandi stole my only child living at home away from me today. She needed help so she enlisted Cain. Now I’m home alone on Mother’s Day. :( Thanks, Kandi! ;)

When Cain got home last night he gave me my present: pink and white Adidas flip flops with foam soles. Oooh but they feel so wonderful! I’ll take a picture tomorrow and show you, you can SEE the comfort. ;) What a good boy he is.

I had planned on sending e-cards to all of my friends who are mothers, but I just don’t feel so well. So, Happy Mother’s Day to all of you. I’ll leave you with something from Erma…my favorite writer EVER. :)

Erma Bombeck on A Mother’s Love
We all know that being a Mom is the hardest, most rewarding job on the face of this Earth.

“You don’t love me!”

How many times have your kids laid that one on you? And how many times have you, as a parent, resisted the urge to tell them how much?

Someday, when my children are old enough to understand the logic that motivates a mother, I’ll tell them…

* I loved you enough to bug you about where you were going, with whom and what time you would get home.
* I loved you enough to insist you buy a bike with your own money, which we could afford, and you couldn’t.
* I loved you enough to be silent and let you discover your hand picked friend was a creep.
* I loved you enough to stand over you for two hours while you cleaned your bedroom, a job that would have taken me 15 minutes.
* I loved you enough to say, “Yes, you can go to Disney World on Mother’s Day.”
* I loved you enough to let you see anger, disappointment, disgust, and tears in my eyes.
* I loved you enough not to make excuses for your lack of respect or your bad manners.
* I loved you enough to admit that I was wrong and ask for your forgiveness.
* I loved you enough to ignore “what every other mother” did or said.
* I loved you enough to let you stumble, fall, hurt, and fail.
* I loved you enough to let you assume the responsibility for your own actions, at 6, 10, or 16.
* I loved you enough to figure you would lie about the party being chaperoned, but forgave you for it…after discovering I was right.
* I loved you enough to shove you off my lap, let go of your hand, be mute to your pleas and insensitive to your demands…so that you had to stand alone.
* I loved you enough to accept you for what you are, and not what I wanted you to be.
But most of all, I loved you enough to say no when you hated me for it. That was the hardest part of all.

~~Erma Bombeck

Posted in Me

4 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Erma was the best…
    As for Cain? I am glad he is fine. The description of events show that he has a good mind!!!!

    And Happy Mom’s Day. Sorry you feel crummy.

  2. Good for Cain! That has inspired me… I will write about an experience I had once soon.

    Happy Mother’s Day. If I’m half as good as you… I’ll be okay. Image if I’m 90% as good as you! Wow!

  3. OMG! I’m so glad Cain kept his scared little head on straight. Do you know if they found anyone when the cops got there?

Leave a Reply

