Happy New Year!

nye1.jpg

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, we went to Logans and that place was packed. Luckily for us we’ve learned that the bar area is “First come, first served,” and there was a table being cleared off as soon as we got there so we jumped right in it. :) Not so lucky for us is that Marshall forgot to turn the car lights off (we’re in Brooke’s car) and the battery was dead when we got out. Luckily for us (hee hee) Cain’s wrestling coach (back when Cain wrestled) pulled in right beside us, found some jumper cables and jumped us off. Yay! It was cold out there.

We stopped at the store and then went to our friend Dawnia’s house for a little New Year’s Eve get-together she was having. We had a great time. Kevin was there with his girlfriend Connie and it was really nice meeting her and seeing Kevin again. I haven’t seen him since the Lyle Lovett concert several months back. Charles was there and we haven’t seen him in a coon’s age.

We really enjoyed ourselves and enjoyed spending time with Dawnia again. It was good being back there again. We’ve missed her a bunch. She’s one-half of the best friends Marshall and I have ever had as a couple. I would be lying if I said it didn’t feel odd in some ways, being there without E, but I’ve managed to keep my friendship with her and E since their divorce and they both know I love them very much. We did miss seeing our buddy Tammy though. Tammy, where were you? :(

Today has been a lazy day. I didn’t go to bed until around 3 this morning and of course Lucy was ready to be taken out a little after 7. Marshall jumped up to take her out, and then he fell back asleep on the couch. I tried to go back to sleep but Lucy crawled in bed with me and she was all in the way so I got on up after a little bit and started straightening the house.

Brooke got home around noon and she and I layed down on my bed shortly after that. We slept on and off for about three hours! I didn’t plan on sleeping the first day of the new year, but it sure felt great.

It’s coooooold outside. The low for tonight is going to be 19! The wind is blowing and my chimes are going to town out there. We might even have snow flurries. Yay!

Tomorrow if everything goes ok we are going to pick up the camper. Marshall still isn’t 100-percent positive. The man who owns it is out of town until tonight so we can’t meet him until tomorrow. I hope we’re able to get it. We’ll have SO much fun.

Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.
– Carl Bard

It’s time to start living the life you’ve imagined.
– Henry James, 1843 – 1916

A year from now you may wish you had started today.
– Karen Lamb

If you have made mistakes … there is always another chance for you. You may have a fresh start any moment you choose, for this thing we call failure is not the falling down, but the staying down.
– Mary Pickford, 1893 – 1979

I vowed not to make any resolutions this year because I never stick with them. I’ve been saying for years that I’m going to lose weight, that I’m going to stop procrastinating, that I’m going to become more organized, and I never do those things. So, I’m going go with the flow, and if I accomplish any of those things this year, then I can be proud of myself. If not, well, well…..I don’t know. I’m happy, I have a good life, a good husband, good children. I love my God, my friends, my family…I’m content. That’s enough for me. If I better myself I’ll be so much happier, I know that’s for sure, but we’ll just see what the end of the year says, huh?

Happy New Year, dear sweet friends. :)

Posted in Me

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I always try to lose weight too, and fail. so this year, i am going to get healthier. I’m not going to weigh myself. i’m just going to walk more, either fast or slow, but i am going to walk. it’s free, i can do it alone or in company and i am going to see my neighborhood. I’m also going to eat smaller portions. I will eat everything i eat now, but guilt free!!! but less. check back with me in a year. lol
    Happy new year to you and yours as well!!

  2. Hey sweetness! I was um, kidnapped, by um, a wild gang of rabid postal workers intent on taking over the world….yeah, that’s it.

    Happy New Year to you!
    Tams

Leave a Reply

