Yucky Cold

lightfade.jpg

So tonight I’m watching “My Night At the Grammys” and I started boo-hooing when they showed Neil Diamond and Barbra Streisand sing “You Don’t Bring Me Flowers.” Now mind you, I’m “doped up” on cold medicine and I miss my husband, but I’ve always loved that song. Here are the lyrics:

You don’t bring me flowers
You don’t sing me love songs
You hardly talk to me anymore
When you come through the door
At the end of the day

I remember when
You couldn’t wait to love me
Used to hate to leave me
Now after lovin’ me late at night
When its good for you
And you’re feelin’ alright
Well you just roll over
And turn out the light
And you don’t bring me flowers anymore

It used to be so natural
To talk about forever
But used-to-bes don’t count anymore
They just lay on the floor
’til we sweep them away

And baby, I remember
All the things you taught me
I learned how to laugh
And I learned how to cry
Well I learned how to love
Even learned how to lie
You’d think I could learn
How to tell you goodbye
’cause you dont bring me flowers anymore…

Marshall and I have been married for almost 22 years now (we’ve been together for 23 yrs. this past Oct.) and I’ve learned over the past few years that marriage certainly has many stages. First you’re crazy in love, and you can’t get enough of one another. You want to be with your spouse every single second and do every single thing together. Then comes the children and everything becomes about them. There’s working and careers, and somehow along the way, you lose each other. Or, this was the case for us anyway.

Marshall and I got to a point where we were barely speaking and not because we were mad at one another, but just because there wasn’t much to say. We love each other very much, but we had let our marriage fall in last place behind everything else in our lives. We’re still working on our communication with each other. We found that our main subject was our children and beyond talking about them, we really didn’t talk about much. Now don’t go thinking that we’re in trouble or anything like that. I was just thinking about that song and how it sounds like it was written for us, which made me wonder how many people do the same thing in their marriage. Seems like most people choose to end their marriage rather than work on it these days. I plan on always working on it. :) By the way, Marshall has been gone all week to Indiana so you might notice that I’m missing him. Luckily he’ll be home shortly. :)

My cold has gotten worse today. I didn’t sleep worth a hoot last night and tried to nap during the day but it just hasn’t worked out for me. Now I seem to be wide awake. I’ll be glad when Marshall gets here. :) My son offered to take me out to see a movie tonight and I REALLY wanted to go but I knew I’d be sniffling and honking my nose and coughing all over the place and I HATE when people are loud at the theater. Anyway, Cain left me home ALONE and instead went to the movies w/two of his buddies. Rude…

Speaking of Cain, he is going to the SEC Championship game tomorrow with our Aunt Karen. He gets to see Tennessee battle against LSU. We’re Auburn fans but Aunt Karen said that Cain has to wear orange if he’s going. LOL! She’s not playing about it either. She’s bringing him an orange sweatshirt. He’s going to have a blast though. I wish I could go, too.

Since I haven’t felt like getting out of the house these past couple of days I decided to take pictures of my Christmas tree lights, which is what is in the picture above. I love pictures like that, but couldn’t really tell you why. It reminds me of looking at a Christmas tree through a rainy store window or something.

Have any of you watched “The Polar Express”? I’ve never seen it before but I’m hoping to rent it this weekend. I want to watch a lot of holiday movies. I mentioned Santa Clause 2 & 3, but I also want to see “Home For the Holidays” (because it cracks me up and I love Holly Hunter), and have you ever seen “One Magic Christmas“? It’s a beautiful movie. And of course there’s all the holiday cartoons like Rudolph, and the Year Without A Santa Claus, The Grinch, and A Charlie Brown Christmas. Then there’s Elf (my newest movie tradition) and Christmas Vacation, Miracle on 34th Street, A Christmas Story, and It’s A Wonderful Life, oh, and A Christmas Carol (the George C. Scott version). Am I missing anything? Do YOU have any favorites that I should see? Please do let me know!

~~ Friday’s Feast~~

Appetizer
What is your favorite carnival/amusement park ride? Roller Coaster a hoo hoo hooo!

Soup
How do you react in uncomfortable social situations? I clam up and get really nervous.

Salad
On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being highest, how much do you enjoy discussing deep, philosophical topics? 10, but I wish I were more knowledgeable about such things.

Main Course
Did you get a flu shot this year? If not, do you plan to? No I didn’t and no, I don’t.

Dessert
Approximately how many hours per week do you spend watching television? Maybe 5 or 6? I watch Ellen about three times a week, and Kid Nation on Wednesdays, and that’s four hours, so yes, five or six for when I watch the news or whatever. :)

Posted in Me

3 thoughts on “Yucky Cold

  1. We watched Polar Express at IMax. Awesome! Awesome! We are sitting here watching it on television right now but wishing we could see it in 3D again!

    One Magic Christmas–is that the one with the Christmas angel that always stood around in the cold with a coat and hat on? I love that one!!!

  2. I don’t know the movies…but you were so right ‘on’ about people’s marriages and how things drift apart.
    Good explanation!

  3. I enjoyed these two this past week.
    Deck the Halls with Danny De Vito and matthew Broadrick.
    Surviving Christmas with Ben Affleck. I also watched A Christmas Story, and Shrek the Halls, The Santa Claus (2 and 3 are being mailed to me as we speak), and I plan to watch The Nativity before Christmas. And of course like you, I have already watched Elf, but will probably watch it again before then.

Leave a Reply

