Happy Thanksgiving!

img_7540.jpg

The days festivities were just too much for Lucy. She was exhausted before the food was even put on the table.

We had a great Thanksgiving. My grandfather (age 92), and my mom, brother, and nephew all came down to celebrate Thanksgiving with us. My grandfather led us in prayer and then we dove in. :) The food was yummy if I do say so myself. I cooked a turkey, a ham, green beans and potatoes, mac & cheese, stuffing, corn, and sweet potato casserole (my late grandmother’s recipe). For dessert I made my (somewhat) famous double-layer pumpkin pie and chocolate pie. Brooke baked a caramel apple cheesecake pie. We stuffed ourselves like Thanksgiving turkeys. :D

I’m so thankful that my kids were both home today. I hope that one day when they’re in their own homes that one of their traditions will be coming to our house for Thanksgiving. And Christmas. And Easter. And every Sunday for dinner after church. :D

Last night a pretty rough storm blew through. The wind woke me up at 3:34 and I stayed awake for the rest of the night. I was afraid that the power would go out and I would have to find alternate means to finish my dinner. The storm was great. I enjoyed watching it.

In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out. It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being. We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit.”
Albert Schweitzer, 1875 – 1965

I’m so thankful for all of you, my family, my friends, and my wonderful blogger buddies who I haven’t met just yet. You just don’t know how much you mean to me :)

Happy Thanksgiving!

Posted in Me

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

