One Year Ago Today

img_8438-1.JPG

One year ago today, I was running my fingers through her hair.
One year ago today, she recognized me for the first time in years.
One year ago today I said “I love you so much” more times than I can count.
One year ago today, she smiled at me and said she loved me, too.
One year ago today, I thanked God for giving me more than 37 years with her.
One year ago today, I listened to her take her last breath.
One year ago today I learned how to say goodbye.

Today, I still thank the Lord for giving me over 37 years with her.
Today, I still think about her beautiful face.
Today, I still tell her how much I love her.
Today, the hurt of losing her is still fresh.
Today, I know I will see her again one day.

In memory of my beloved grandmother, Mamie Ruth, who died a year ago today from Alzheimers Disease.

I still miss her so much. There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think of her. She was such a beautiful person. Oh, don’t get me wrong…cross her and you’d know it for sure. :) But we, her family, never doubted for a minute how much she loved us. Alzheimer’s took her from us way before she was gone from this world. I pray that there is a cure found for that disease.

I have so many memories of my grandmother. I was her only granddaughter for 17 years (out of 13 grandsons!) so you can imagine how rotten I must’ve been. :) One memory of her that I have that is one of my favorite memories, is when the kids, hubby and I, were headed to her house to see her before we left to go back home in Mississippi. She was starting to get ill with Alzheimer’s but we just didn’t realize it so much then; didn’t realize that was what was happening. Anyway, it was Brooke’s birthday but because Granny didn’t leave the house much she hadn’t been to the store. She made Brooke a “cake” from Little Debbie Star Crunches, and each one had a candle in it. It was so beautiful, just Star Crunches arranged in a plate with candles glowing brightly. :) I can’t tell you the effect that it had on me, and I don’t know why. She just made such a point of always letting us know, no matter what, how much she loved us. I’ll miss her just as much as I do now every single day for the rest of my life. I’m so, so, SO blessed to have had her as my grandmother.

Life is eternal, and love is immortal,
and death is only a horizon;
and a horizon is nothing save the limit of our sight.
~Rossiter Worthington Raymond

Posted in Me

One thought on “One Year Ago Today

Leave a Reply

