ABC’s

img_2037.jpg

I love “The Wonder Years” and have just recently discovered that it comes on in syndication on the new “ion” station. Yippee! I know this show was set in the 60’s but it makes me think of how wonderful life must’ve been in the 50’s. How I’d love to have grown up then, in a new suburb, where everyone knew everyone–and liked them! :) Did any of you, my dear readers, grow up in the 50’s, and if so, was it wonderful? I’d love to hear from you!

My library allows you to go online and hold books so that you’re assured they will be there when you go. How wonderful is THAT? There are several libraries grouped together with my library so that if my local one doesn’t have a book I want, they’ll get it from another library. I’m so excited about that. I went there today and picked up the first three books in the Little House series as well as a couple of Janette Oke books. I’m pretty sure that is the author that Chrisi told me I’d like. I can’t wait to start reading them. :)

My all-time favorite author is Erma Bombeck. I simply adored her. After I finish reading the Little House series, I’m going to start reading all of Erma’s books again. She makes me laugh out loud. I laugh so hard I cry at some of her stories. She was wonderful, wasn’t she?

The ABC’s of Me (taken from The Homespun Heart–play along, won’t you?):

Accent: Southern–Appalachian southern, if you want specifics. :)

Bible Book that I like: Proverbs

Chore I don’t care for: Washing dishes. Ugh!

Dog or Cat: Dog! I have cats but wish I didn’t. I love mine, but won’t get anymore.

Essential Electronics: Phone, computer.

Favorite Cologne: Deep Red, by Hugo

Gold or Silver: Neither, I don’t care for jewelry at all really. I DO however, love my anniversary diamond band.

Handbag I Carry Most Often: I switch out a lot, don’t carry the same one for very long.

Insomnia: Sadly, yes.

Job Title: Gopher, photographer’s assistant.

Kids: Brooke~She’ll be 21 on Dec. 19, and Cain~He’ll be 18 on Nov. 17.

Living Arrangements: A home built in 1946 that I love tremendously, with my hubby of almost 22 years, my son Cain, (Brooke is off to college); my cats, Neak Neak, Hobbes, & Axl; and my dogs, a JRT mix, Hopper, and my beloved Lucy–a Shih Tzu.

Most Admirable Trait: Loyal!

Naughtiest Childhood Behavior: I was a spoiled rotten. Marshall says I still am. ;)

Overnight Hospital Stays: Had my tonsils removed when I was four, several hospital stays for stomach issues that I had, once when I was pregnant with Brooke; Brooke & Cain’s births, partial hysterectomy, then total hysterectomy. I think that’s it.

Phobias: I am afraid of bears. I love them, but won’t hike a lot near where we live because I’m afraid of being attacked. It’s crazy, I know…

Quote: I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned, the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle, and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next. Delicious Ambiguity.”~~Gilda Radner

Religion: Baptist

Siblings: Older sister, Kamille, and younger brother, Joseph

Time I Wake Up: 6:30ish

Unusual Talent or Skill: I know exactly–exactly–when something is wrong with one of my friends or loved ones, (one and the same, aren’t they?) no matter if they’re acting like they’re sitting on top of the world or not. I’m good at getting people to open up and share their problems with me and I do my best to help them. I also always know what Marshall is going to say/ask before he says it and I’ll go ahead and answer him. It freaks him out. :)

Vegetable I Refuse to Eat: Green beans. *gag*

Worst Habit: Putting things off until the last minute.

X-rays: Arm, stomach, foot, belly, & brain (and I have one!). :)

Yummy Stuff I Cook: Chili, meatloaf (Marshall’s favorite), roast, beef stew.

Zoo Animal I Like Most: Chimpanzees, but I feel horribly sorry for them all.

Posted in Me

4 thoughts on “ABC’s

  1. How can you NOT like green beans??? And you call yourself a southerner!!! :)

    Can’t wait to see you in New Salem!!! I’ll be dragging Mad along if he doesn’t have to work over the night before, so hopefully you can meet him soon. Either way, I’ll be there at some point for hugs and kisses.

  2. You can also request books from other branches, which I didn’t realize for some time. Another thing I was late in discovering is their fantastic online database. I discovered that I can actually view and print census images for genealogy research. But there is a ton of other database type stuff once you start exploring.

  3. Interesting article about the dialects.

    There is a great book about how wonderful (and hilarious) it was growing up in the 50’s and early 60’s by Bill Bryson.

    Ellen

  4. I love Erma Bombeck, she is my hero of housewives. I think my favorite book of hers was…If Life is a Bowl of Cherries, Why did I get the Pits?…
    I don’t know if that is correct, but I loved it!

Leave a Reply

