I Love Saturdays

img_0960.jpg

This morning I got up at 7:30 and went over to the gym and worked out for about an hour and a half. It felt great, too. There wasn’t a lot of people there (only one person until Kandi got there) and I’m always much more relaxed when there’s not a lot of folks there.

When I got home I worked on the house a bit, showered and got ready and we headed to Murfreesboro, Tenn., which is where we are now. Cain has a football camp up here tomorrow so we came up a day early so we could goof off beforehand.

We played golf at Stone Fort State Park. It’s a nine-hole course and it was beautiful. We saw deer, geese, a little groundhog, and just really enjoyed being out in nature. It’s been a while since we’ve been able to get out and do anything.

We treated ourself to Carrabba’s afterwards and man oh man was it good. Cain and I both had the lasagne (their spelling) and Marshall had the lobster ravioli and loved it. We left there, stuffed like a bunch of Thanksgiving turkeys, and went to see Pirates 3. I LOVED it. Loved, loved, loved it. Cain also liked it a lot. :) Anytime I can see Johnny Depp & Orlando Bloom on the big screen is a good day. ;)

I called the hospital where my mother is and she has apparently not signed a paper telling them that it’s ok to talk to me about her situation so they can’t even tell me that she’s there (even though she called me from there on Friday). Because of the new HIPAA Privacy Rule, they can’t tell me a darned thing. I can’t take her any personal care items (even though I’m sure she has stuff they provide), not her contact solution, not anything. I think it’s a bit ridiculous because I’m certain she will not give them any background information. They won’t know that she has a history of drug problems, etc. They just won’t know anything so how can they treat her? It frustrates me. Anyway, I’ve thought about it and thought about it until I thought my brain my burst, but since she hasn’t told them it’s ok to talk to me, and probably won’t since she’s mad at me (for not rushing down there to get her), there’s NOTHING I can do. My hands are tied so there’s no sense in dwelling on it. I’m trying my best to go about my daily activities and leave it at that. What else can I do?

Posted in Me

One thought on “I Love Saturdays

  1. Yep, HIPPA, you cannot get around it. Although generally the hospital staff do try and find someone to tend to her interests as she is obviously not in a state of mind to do that herself.
    My son did the same thing. He kept everyone out of it and convinced the doctors that he is harmless as a puppy.
    Nothing we can do hon, just sit and watch with our hands tied.

Leave a Reply

